Community Bankers Association Of Georgia Elects 2016-2017 Board Of Directors


(l-r); Community Bankers Association of Georgia 2016-2017 Executive Committee Members: Chairman: Brad Serff, Providence Bank, Alpharetta; Chairman-Elect: Scott Tomlinson, Flint Community Bank, Albany; Vice Chairman:Tim Jones, Citizens Community Bank, Valdosta; Treasurer: Ron Quinn, Peach State Bank & Trust, Gainesville; Immediate Past Chair: Ed Cooney, Affinity Bank, Atlanta; Member At Large: Dan Oliver, Vinings Bank, Smyrna

Brad Serff, President & CEO, Providence Bank, Alpharetta, was installed as the 2016-2017 Chairman of the Community Bankers Association of Georgia (CBA) during the 48th Annual Meeting & Trade Show, held recently at the Fairmont Southampton Resort in Bermuda. His term begins October 1, 2016.Mr. Serff also serves as Chair of the Member Services Committee.

The CBA is a non-profit organization dedicated to serving community banks throughout Georgia for over 45 years to enhance their profitability and growth. Founded in 1969 by a group of Georgia community bankers, the CBA is the state's only advocate working solely for the interests of community banks and their customers. The CBA was formed to protect the political interests of locally-owned community banks and today represents 165 community banks andnearly 200 associate member companies. The Association offers services in four distinct areas, which include political affairs, education, products & services and networking.

Board members are selected from ten divisions across the state of Georgia, ensuring all Georgia community banks are equally represented. Board members are elected to a one-year term which begins October 1st of each year. During the course of the year, Directors will be involved in a number of items on behalf of the CBA membership, such as responding to proposed rules and regulations from the various regulatory agencies, reviewing numerous products & services which will benefit the community banking industry as well as consumers, and weighing in on proposed legislation.

“Our Association continues to thrive due to the efforts and guidance provided by the community bank leaders that comprise our Board,” commented Rob Braswell, President & CEO of the Community Bankers Association of Georgia. “The varied experience each Board Member brings to the table is an invaluable asset to our Association, and serves to strengthen the community banking industry in Georgia.”

For more information, contact CBA at (770) 541-4490 or visit




Chairman: Brad Serff, Providence Bank, Alpharetta

Chairman-Elect: Scott Tomlinson, Flint Community Bank, Albany

Vice Chairman: Tim Jones, Citizens Community Bank, Valdosta

Treasurer: Ron Quinn, Peach State Bank & Trust, Gainesville

At Large: Dan Oliver, Vinings Bank, Smyrna

Immed. Past Chair: Ed Cooney, Affinity Bank, Atlanta


Division 1Chairperson: Al Ross, Peoples Bank, Lyons

Division 2 Chairperson: Charles Rooks, Family Bank, Pelham

Division 3Chairperson: Charlie Curry, First State Bank of Randolph County, Cuthbert

Division 4 Chairperson: Leonard Moreland, Heritage Bank, Jonesboro

Division 5 Chairperson: Elliott Miller, Georgia Banking Company, Atlanta

Division 6 Chairperson: Henry Pope, Exchange Bank, Milledgeville

Division 7Chairperson: David Caswell, Century Bank of Georgia, Cartersville

Division 8 Chairperson: Paul Bennett, Alma Exchange Bank, Alma

Division 9 Chairperson: Keith Hales, Hamilton State Bank, Hoschton

Division 10 Chairperson: Dawn Griffin, Liberty First Bank, Monroe

EX-OFFICIO (ICBA): Bran Thompson, South Georgia Bank, Glennville


Bill Easterlin, Queensborough National Bank, Louisville

Corey Gibbs, Community Banking Company of Fitzgerald

Marc Greene, Mountain Valley Community Bank, Cleveland

Chuck Harwell, Community Bank of Dublin – Laurens County

John Lewis, Foothills Community Bank, Dawsonville

Dale Morris, First National Bank of Coffee County, Douglas

Derek Williams, Century Bank & Trust, Milledgeville

Terri B. Guthrie, First Landmark Bank, Marietta

Rob Braswell, CBA of Georgia, Atlanta

HONORARY MEMBER: Pat Blanchard, State Bank & Trust Co., Augusta


AUDIT: Ron Quinn

NOMINATING: Scott Tomlinson



BANKER REGULATORY FORUM: Clark Hungerford, Vinings Bank, Smyrna 

It's on us. Share your news here.

Submit your stories and articles to citybizlist today.